Indie Surprise

I had the great opportunity to see Beasts of the Southern Wild (2012) in Germany. I watched the original version of the film, which just means that they didn’t dub over the English. I had not been in the US for almost half a year at that point and so I no clue what films were being showed at that time in the US. I found Beasts of the Southern Wild to be a wonderful movie and thought that it was a Hollywood produced film. The special effects were spectacular and the acting was phenomenal. It was to me a high quality film.

It wasn’t until after reading  J.J. Murphy’s blog on independent films did I realize that this film was not only independent but the actors were very much amateur.  It wasn’t some high budget Hollywood film at all. It was a low budget and the main actress was a six year old girl who had never acted before.

I had this preconceived notion that ALL or almost all independent were of lower quality and were meant to be confusing or avant garde. For the most part, I think a lot of people feel this way before they find something that challenges their ideals. Beasts of the Southern Wild changed my perspective of how I saw indie films. In all honesty, however, if I had paid more attention to the movie poster I would have realized that it took part in the Sundance music festival, but I was so captivated by the film itself that I failed to notice.

Regardless, it still holds true that Beasts of the Southern Wild is a good example of an independent film that destroys the stereotype of Indie.

One thought on “Indie Surprise

Leave a Reply

